About the name of my blog

In college, I was something of an obsessive Gillian Anderson fan.  My friends were even more so.  We met through a Scully fan group, and once took a road trip from Chicago to Grand Rapids so we could see where she went to HS.  Yes, we were nuts.

It also meant that we saw anything GA was in (including college shorts someone somehow got her hands on), which is how I was introduced to the best movie no one’s ever seen, Playing by Heart. The cast alone should’ve made people see it (including Sean Connery, Anthony Edwards, Gena Rowlands, Dennis Quaid, Jay Mohr, Jon Stewart, Ryan Phillipe and Angelina Jolie).  Sadly, Miramax didn’t bother promoting it and it was rather overlooked.

The movie is a look at love from just about every angle: new love, young love, strained love, long-time love, parental love, love lost and love refound.  The opening scene is a monologue by Joan, Angelina Jolie’s character, a 20ish party girl:

Joan: I have a friend, jazz musician…trumpet player, really terrific. And I go and hear him jam every month or so and he plays this piece I love, an old Chet Baker song. And he blows the same notes every time and every time it sounds so different. And we had drinks one night…when I used to drink….and I tried to tell him how that song made me feel, how the music made me feel, how his playing made me feel. And he just kept shakin’ his head and he said “Joan, you can’t talk about music! Talking about music is like dancing about architecture,” and I just said, “Well fine! Gonna get all philosophical on me, it’s just as pointless as talking about a lot of things, love for instance.” And my friend laughed and he said, “Definitely, most definitely, talking about love is like dancing about architecture.” So I don’t know, he might be right…but it ain’t gonna stop me from trying.

That says it all, I think.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by oneof4 on April 1, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I have to admit I was curious about name of your blog. Thanks for explaining and I look forward to watching your dance.

    Reply

  2. You’re welcome. And thanks for the comment 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

