Poly trust

One of the things I’m really liking right now as I embark on this whatever-it-is with E is that I have a level of trust in him that I wouldn’t with most people I barely knew, simply because he has what amounts to good references.  I see it this way: I know B pretty well at this point.  Enough to know that she has a ) good taste, b) good values, and c) good judgement.  I also know she wouldn’t put up with someone who wasn’t worthy.  Therefore, if E is a guy she loves and respects (which he is), then he must be a decent person.  As C said when I was going out with him the other night, “B likes him, so I’m not worried he’s a serial killer.”  B also values our friendship, which E knows, so he has extra incentive to not be a dick to me (not that I think he would anyway) since it might piss off his girlfriend.  Of course, it works the same way for me – I have to do right or risk losing the friendship with B (again, not that I would do that anyway).  It’s really an interesting dynamic, and one I’m enjoying.

One response to this post.

  1. That’s an interesting way of looking at poly trust, thanks for sharing your perspective 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

